Time and again, you will be prompted to reconnect your social channels to the Hopeful dashboard. You will see a reauthentication banner on the top of every page and receive emails to notify you about your disconnected account.

There are several reasons why reauthentication is required.

The built-in life span of social channels

Social media platforms provide access tokens to Hopeful to connect the dashboard to your social tools. The tokens have their built-in lifespans after which, they expire or become invalid. Like for instance, tokens for Facebook and Instagram business accounts have a 60-day lifespan. On expiration, you must reconnect your social account to Hopeful so that a new token gets generated.

Detection of security violations

Each social platform follows its own policies and has security algorithms to keep your data secured. When certain suspicious activities get identified on an account (like patterns of multiple IP addresses for the same username or attempts to post flagged content), the social network forces the token to expire automatically.

This results in a reauthentication error on your Hopeful dashboard. Though this may seem frustrating, it is equally important to keep your data secured. Since Hopeful is a third-party partner, it is subjected to these security protocols.

Manual updates to the social account

Manual updates to your account, like changing the username, or password can disconnect your channel. For example, if you sign in to Twitter and change your password, your Twitter account disconnects from Hopeful.

Revoking access from social media sites

Revoking access to a social account also leads to a disconnection between a social platform and Hopeful. Under social accounts' settings, there is a list of apps that have permission to connect to your social account. If the admin user manually revokes Hopeful's access from the social account settings, your account disconnects from the Hopeful platform.

Did this answer your question?